Harley Security System & PIN Override

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 9.20.26 AMI had an experience yesterday that reminded me of how important it is to keep your Harley-Davidson motorcycle’s Owner’s Record wallet card in your wallet in the event you find you’ve somehow lost or misplaced your key fob.

Here’s the dealeo…

I had to run an errand that I could accomplish via motorcycle. I thought about taking my trusty BMW since it has the hard bags but really felt like I needed to give my seldom-used Harley Wide Glide a little exercise.  The 2nd Harley is kept on a wheeled lift so that it’s easy to move around in the garage and as I lowered it the Harley security system activated.

20160409_102412

As I typically do when I’m just working on bikes in the garage, I pulled the key fob out of its storage drawer and hung it on the right hand, brake lever so it would be in close proximity to the bike, thereby disarming the security system.  In retrospect, that was a bad move: I should have put in in the fob pocket on my Levi’s.

After getting my jacket, helmet and pack back on, I fired up the bike — forgetting that the fob was on the brake lever — and pulled the bike out of the garage.  I stopped briefly to get something out of the truck, closed the garage and headed off on my errand.  After arriving at my destination and heading into the store it suddenly dawned on me what I’d done, confirmed when I did a body pat-down to confirm I did not have the key fob on my person.

20160409_091835Thankfully, I remembered that I had my Harley wallet card with the bike’s security PIN and, more importantly, the step-by-step instructions on how to use the PIN to override the security system.  Actually, I don’t have a problem remembering the PIN, but since I don’t override the security system all that much, having those instructions handy was a life-saver.  I finished my errands, went out to the bike and confirmed that by some miracle the key fob wasn’t hanging on the handlebars and they followed the override instructions to input my PIN and voila, the bike fired!

When I returned home sure enough, there was the key fob sitting in the middle of the garage, having fallen off as I turned the handlebars to the right as I pulled it out of the garage; whew!  Just thinking about the time and expense of replacing the fob, getting the new one re-programmed, getting a replacement key for the bike plus to other speciality keys replicated you can only imagine how relieved I was to find that fob!

So, the moral of the story here is, if you own a Harley-Davidson with a security system that relies on a key fob to disable the security system so you can start the bike and don’t keep your bike’s Security Information Wallet Card in your wallet or haven’t memorized your security PIN code and the override programming process you might want to rethink that.

If you didn’t even know your bike has a security PIN and/or didn’t reset the factory default you might want to revisit your owner’s manual and take care of that ASAP.  Here’s the general process:

Setting or Changing Your Security System Alarm Override PIN

Button less fobs (Smart FOB)

  1. Select 5 digit code ( each digit being a 1 thru 9) and record it on the wallet card in the owner’s manual.
  2. With an assigned FOB present, turn IGN key ON – OFF – ON – OFF – ON
  3. Press Left turn signal switch 3 times.
  4. Press Right turn signal switch one time and release.
    *Turn signals will flash 3 times. Current PIN will appear in the odometer. The first digit will be flashing.
  5. Enter first digit (a) of the new PIN by pressing left turn signal (a) times.
  6. Press right turn signal 1 time and release.
    *The new digit (a) will replace the current in the odometer window.
  7. Enter second digit (b) of the new PIN by pressing left turn signal switch (b) times.
  8. Press right turn signal 1 time and release.
    *The new digit will replace the current in odometer window.
  9. Enter the third digit (c) of the new PIN by pressing left turn signal (c) times.
  10. Press the right turn switch 1 time and release.
    *The new digit (c) will replace the current in the odometer window.
  11. Enter forth digit (d) of the new PIN by pressing left turn signal switch (d) times.
  12. Press the right turn switch 1 time and release.
  13. Enter the fifth digit (e) of the new PIN by pressing left turn signal (e) times.
    *The new digit (e) will replace the current in the odometer window.
  14. Press the right turn switch 1 time and release.
  15. Before the module rearms, turn ignition key to OFF.
    * The odometer will return to mileage display.
    **Turning the ignition to OFF stores the new pin in the module.

Your dealer is supposed to ask you for a PIN and show you how to use the security system when you take delivery of a new Harley-Davidson, but that doesn’t always happen especially if you buy your Harley second-hand from a private owner.  If you have a new Harley, almost all of them are programmed with 3-3-3-3-3 as the default PIN, hence the importance of changing that right after taking delivery.  It’s kind of like using G-U-E-S-T as a password on a computer network, i.e., 3-3-3-3-3 is the first thing anyone trying to steal a Harley will try, followed by 0-0-0-0-0, 1-1-1-1-1 and 1-2-3-4-5.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Motorcycle / Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

