Almost Had Flashbacks from Snowmageddon

So, the weather guessers pegged north Georgia to get some wisps of snow as cold air pushed into the region with a front producing just a bit of moisture.  Unlike the usual — go grab the milk and bread — call to arms that go out when the models predict harsh winter driving conditions in Atlanta, there wasn’t much said about today’s expected precipitation other than a little snow mixed in with rain as temps hovered around freezing.

With all that said, I went ahead and rode the Boxer Cup to work today.  No worries, it’s not going to “snow”.  Yeah, well…  Around 1:30pm calls from the northern burbs were coming in with reports of slick exit ramps and snow sticking on the ground and roads.  Really?  Come on now, there’s not much on the radar.

As my 3:00pm – 4:00pm telecon approached I decided that I really didn’t want to be on two-wheels during the height of the afternoon rush hour if the snow machine suddenly turned on as the sun set.  So, I opted to head for home around 2:00pm.

20160209_144136Imagine my surprise when I turned the bike to the northwest and saw a giant wall of grey where the clouds were supposed to be.  Yup, I made it about 2 miles before I was in the middle of a near white-out snow squall.  The roads weren’t much more slippery than you’d expect for damp and 33°F all day, but the ice and snow kept covering my helmet’s face shield which left me riding with just one hand as my left one had to keep wiping the snow from my field of view.  Yikes, what did I ride into!?

Thankfully, the snow squall ended as quickly as it started so the last 9 miles to the house were just damp with flurries and gale force winds: yeah, the winds were an issue!  I felt like the bike and I were about to be knocked down a couple of times on our way north towards Kennesaw.

Upon arriving home I realized that the front of the motorcycle and my helmet were both sporting an exoskeleton of ice that was collected as I rode through the micro-burst of snow.

As the evening approach I finally accepted the fact that my early departure was all for not: the roads just weren’t that bad and the ride home would have been fine.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

