Let There Be Light! A BMW Headlight That Is!!!

IDSCN1299magine my surprise when I received a call from my friends at BMW on Thursday afternoon – September 3rd – telling me that my headlight had arrived… in Atlanta! Yes indeed, for the first time in this saga I was pleasantly surprised remembering that the last ETA for the headlight at the warehouse in Germany was September 3rd.

I had to wait until Friday to pick it up as the Dyna Wide Glide was in solo rider configuration without the luggage back/backrest that I’d need to carry the boxed headlight. That worked out well in that it gave me a reason to make plans to leave work at noon ahead of a weekend trip so that I could not only pick it up, but go ahead and install it so the bike would be ready for the morning commute next Tuesday.

As before, the packaging of the headlight left something to be desired but thankfully it arrived without any loose parts, things rattling around inside the light or broken tabs. It also worked when I plugged it in and turned on the power!

DSCN1300 DSCN1301

It was nice being able to put the bike back together so that I could ride it again, noting that it’s been sidelined since the end of May. The Dyna Wide Glide has been a great substitute for the daily commute and will probably continue to be pressed into commute duty when the weather forecasts are free of rain or cold temps, as that’s definitely where the BMW is the better choice.

20150904_154000

So, we can finally close the book on this saga…

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Motorcycle / Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

