The Harley’s are great, but the BMW is still a thrilla…

As I was riding home from work on my BMW R1100S sport bike tonight through a nice section of twists and turns along a back road I had to be honest with myself:  no matter how much I enjoy riding the Road King with Miss Debbie or taking the Wide Glide for a solo spin, neither of them really hold a candle to the pure joy and exhilaration that I get when I’m out on my BMW.

trioIt’s all about the riding position and the handling, more so than horsepower, sound or looks.  I always feel “at one” with a sport bike which is something I’ve never felt aboard a cruiser or touring bike, including our ’04 BMW R1150RT sport tourer.

Not sure what it was about tonight’s ride — it was cool but not cold, I had on a leather jacket with my suit pants, button-down dress shirt and tie and my Shoei full face — and I felt like I was flying a plane through some canyons as I carved my way through the undulating turns on the full moon-lit roads that for some reason I had all to myself.

It was one of those zen-like moments you sometimes get to experience as a motorcyclist, particularly when you ride a sport bike, but any bike will do.

cr125Those are the moments I live for and that have made riding motorcycles such an addiction right from the start all those years ago when I rode my first “real motorcycle” … a friend’s Hodaka 100 in his front yard.  I miss those early days on dirt bikes like a Honda Elsinore CR125 where I really cut my teeth on the trails and mountains in and around Bergen County as a wide-eyed 13-year old. Good times to be sure!

Don’t get me wrong, we’re into the Harley’s for the long haul… there’s just something special about those darn things too.  It’s a different kind of joy and happiness, a less dramatic and more controlled experience to be sure… and something I can do forever.

However, so long as I’ve got the nerve, a trim waistline and the need for speed I’ll have a sport bike in the stable!

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

