Wide Glide Speedo “V IN ER”

So, I decided to take the Wide Glide to work today since the weather guessers were calling for a pretty nice day today.  I also opted to leave the saddle bags and rain gear at home which was probably not smart: never trust ’em that much.

HD Dig/Analog Speedo 4" - NightAnyway, after swinging a leg over and flipping on the ignition switch I notice that my Harley-Davidson “Combination Digital Speedometer / Analog Tachometer”  (PN 70900274) was showing a V IN ER (e.g., VIN Error, or Vehicle Identification Number Error) in the digital readout window instead of the clock or odometer.  Hmmm.  That’s odd?

On the bright side, the bike still fired so at least it wasn’t a serious problem: it’s not like I really “need” the speedo, odometer, clock or gear position indicator that I typically have displayed.   I went ahead and rode it to work and searched my memory, as I seemed to recall that it did this once before… but not in the recent past.

As best as I could recall, there wasn’t anything I could do with the digital display and my “quick fix” the last time around was to simply disconnect the battery / remove power from the speedo.  After being powered down for a minute, I re-attached the bike’s main power line to the battery and then gave the ignition switch a turn:  bingo!  Up popped the current mileage — 9,954 miles — and all of the other display options that I had switched on and all seemed good with the world.  With any luck, the weather will be well suited for the Wide Glide tomorrow so I can confirm that the bike is running without any ill effects.

As for that weather thing, we got hammered with a severe thunderstorm around 3:00pm today; it was looking bleak.  However, as 5pm rolled around a break in the clouds had developed that offered me dry passage home IF I got my butt in gear and on the bike.

It was a good day… 🙂  Of course, any day that you get to swing a leg over an iron horse for just about any reason is a good Day!

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish, Motorcycle / Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

