Quotes About Motorcycling That Resonate With Me….

Cherahola Stop1Much has been written about motorcycles and motorcycling, and there are a few things that have become “quotable”… some attributed to the first person to utter the statement and many to no one, i.e., anonymous.

While there are many, many large collections of quotes about motorcycling, these are a select few of the ones by unknown authors that have always struck a chord with me…

Motorcycling is not, of itself, inherently dangerous. It is, however, extremely unforgiving of inattention, ignorance, incompetence, or stupidity.

A bike on the road is worth two in the shed.

It’s not the destination, it’s the journey.

If you don’t ride in the rain, you don’t ride.

If you still have fuel in the tank, you are not lost yet.

Riding faster than everyone else only guarantees you’ll ride alone.

Don’t lead the pack unless you know where you’re going.

Never ride faster than your guardian angel can fly.

Only a Biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.

pirsigAnd then there’s this one by Robert M. Pirsig, author of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry Into Values, which really sums up why I always rather be “ON” anything with two wheels than “IN” anything else with four wheels:

In a car you’re always in a compartment, and because you’re used to it you don’t realize that through that car window everything you see is just more TV. You’re a passive observer and it is all moving by you boringly in a frame.

On a cycle the frame is gone. You’re completely in contact with it all. You’re in the scene, not just watching it anymore, and the sense of presence is overwhelming.

I would probably be remiss if I also didn’t confess that all of my most deep thinking takes place when I’m riding either a motorcycle or a bicycle… such as today while riding home from work only to find myself asking rhetorical questions about life to no one in particular.  It was during that moment of introspection that I found myself thinking about several of these quotes.

There’s just something about being on a bike and finding myself “in the zone” where I’m fully aware of my surroundings and actively managing my machine that open up portals of introspection into a variety of subjects that have nothing to do with bikes or riding.

So, yeah… I like bikes.  But there are a lot more reasons behind it than most casual observers would ever guess.  Call it cheap mental therapy…  Well, cheap compared to weekly therapy sessions!  Which brings me to my final, favorite motorcycle quote:

therapy

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quotes About Motorcycling That Resonate With Me….

  1. A motorcyclist has to know many things and these three I’m rather fond of:
    Rule 1: Learn, and always know, your limitations
    Rule 2: Everyone falls off
    Rule 3: Everyone falls off

Leave a Reply

