Nicknames & Motorcycles…. Got One For Yours?

Truth be known, the only machine I’ve ever given a nickname is our 2013 Road King, “Blue.”

DSCN0445

Aside from Blue, I’ve never had a boat, bicycle, motorcycle or car that have really seemed to need a nickname.  I’ve pretty much just gone with the brand, model or a shortened version of the model name when talking about the machine; some examples:

  • “The Cos” was my 1975 Cosworth Vega
  • “The Benz” was our grey-market 1985 Mercedes Cosworth 2.3 16V
  • “That P.O.S.” was my 1980 Buick V-6 Skyhawk Roadhawk
  • My pick-up trucks have always just been “the truck.”
  • Debbie’s S2000 is “the Honda, S2000 or Debbie’s little red car.”
  • “The Blackbird” was my 1998 Honda CBR1100XX SuperBlackbird
  • We owned two custom-made tandems and a single bicycle made by Glenn Erickson of Seattle and all three were simply called “The Erickson.”
  • The Hobie Cat catamaran day sailers were always just “The Hobie”, not a single one was named.

Not very original, but none of these machines ever really seemed to want for a nickname the way thr Road King did.  Of course, now that I’ve lived with a bike that has a nickname I can see that there is some utility in having nicknames: Blue is certainly a lot easier and far more personal than the CVO Road King, FLHRSE5, CVORK, SERK or even just “Road King.”  We have a friend who has several bikes with names including an older Harley-Davidson Knucklehead named “Drippy”… probably one of the best I’ve ever heard.

I actually tried to come up with nicknames for the BMW and the Wide Glide after “Blue” came to me and it just didn’t work.

r1100s SDC11246

Nothing has come to me the way Blue did for the Road King; but, then gain, as a general rule I don’t love anything that can’t love me back.  Therefore, giving “stuff” names is not something that’s ever consumed much of my attention. 

As best as I can recall, “Blue” started off as simply an easy way of differentiating the Road King from the Wide Glide when I was talking about “the Harley”, i.e., “Which one?  The blue one or the black one?”  Blue… and it stuck.  

I don’t expect to give a nickname to any other “things” but won’t say never. After all, I could never have imagined giving anything a nickname up and until this point in my life.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

