A Great Ride & A More Comfortable Saddle…

helenWe took a nice 200-mile day trip up to Helen, Georgia yesterday so that our friend David’s wife, Deb, could get some saddle time on their new-to-them 100th Anniversary FLHR. Given all of the very wintery winter weather we’ve had this year David and Deb just haven’t had too many opportunities to get out on their Road King since David & I make the trip to Savannah around Thanksgiving so he could check-out and buy the bike.

He’s been slowly transforming the already nicely preserved bike into his own Road King and adding a variety of creature comforts for Deb, e.g., a nice Mustang saddle, adjustable floor boards, tweaking the air adjustable rear shocks and putting on a new rear tire.

They were able to get out on the bike for about a 40-mile round trip over to Roswell, Georgia two weekends ago and the preliminary feedback was very encouraging!!  I think the comment from Deb went something like, “I was so comfortable that I almost fell asleep!”   We’d planned to lead them on a longer ride into the Georgia Mountains the last weekend in February  but something came up.  Debbie and I did the Dahlonega, Georgia trip solo just so we could enjoy the unseasonably warm day riding in the mountains, something I wrote about last weekend.

During that ride I finally came to grips with my own riding discomfort and said enough-was-enough with our Road King CVO’s saddle and decided to get it reworked rather than replacing it.  I covered that in a blog entry this past weekend, well… at least the getting it done part.

suctionDuring this weekend’s ride I once again shot some video from our Road King with a pair of GoPro cameras that I mounted in a number of different locations.  I elected to go with a pair of suction cup mounts to give me the greatest flexibility given all of the large, flat surface areas that the Road King offers.  The suction cups make it very quick and easy to reposition the camera vs the GoPro bar mounts or the Ram Mounts ball & socket systems.  There’s a link to the video a bit lower down in this entry.

I’d hoped that I’d be able to control the cameras with my WiFi remote, but I continue to have issues getting the WiFi remote and WiFi receivers / GoPro cameras to stay paired.  Regardless, I still was able to get some pretty good video from cameras mounted on the top of a saddle bag pointed backwards, another one mounted to the side of the left saddle bag and pointing forward, and then mounted to the front right lower fairing pointed forward with one other perspective provided by a camera mounted on the right side of the windscreen pointed back at Debbie and me.  I should have taken a still photo of the camera installations, but didn’t: something I’ll correct for the next shoot.

This weekend’s trip let me see if I guessed right on going with an extra firm foundation: I did!  Woohoo.  It made for a very comfortable ride without any hot spots, numbness or post ride soreness from sitting with my sit bones pressed up against the saddle pan.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

