Almost Added a New Sled to the Stable This Week….

Dagnabit!  For some strange reason I’ve been checking out used Harley Road Glide and Road King motorcycles on Craigslist of late, as I’ve got it in my head that I’d really like to have a touring-class Harley at our disposal so that we can take off for a road trip on a whim with a bike that will allow us to ride a few hundred miles at a pop.  Don’t get me wrong, we love our Wide Glide, but it’s better suited for short day rides, bar hopping and one-up riding.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I didn’t act fast enough to snap up a pristine 2004 Road Glide with only 9k miles for a song and kicked myself for a couple of days.

Then, this week I screwed up again as I stumbled over this amazing 2008 Road King with a killer, limited edition paint scheme for what “would” have been a heck of a great deal.

The photo’s don’t do it justice. The paint is a gold pearl over white and pewter, which is just stunning. The bike is a Road King, not a Road King classic, so it came with the hard bags instead of the leather bags. Sadly, the day that I contacted the seller I was informed that he had an interested party coming the following day to look at the bike. I asked him to follow-up after that visit to let me know if it was sold or still available. Got the bad news that the bike was sold a day later.

So, we’re looking for a sister bike to this one.  We’ve seen a couple out there, but none that we’ve found are as clean and unmolested as this one was, or with a low mileage and a low asking price.

Guess my lesson learned was, act on your first instinct and don’t ponder too long if you’re serious.  My lack of action may have left our cookie jar full of cash, but we also missed out on two really great deals on two really great bikes in the process.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish, Motorcycle / Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

