Custom Dynamics – Great Customer Support!

Regular readers may recall back in September I replaced the incandescent turn and turn/stop signal light bulbs on our Harley-Davidson Wide Glide with LED clusters from Custom Dynamics while we were at Bike Week in Panama City.  These have been great in terms of added visibility, etc.

Well, two weeks ago I was cleaning the grime off of my headlight and decided to flip the lights on so I could be sure there wasn’t a chip in the lens. When I walked around to the front of the bike I happened to notice that six of the little LED lights in the right hand turn signal cluster were burned-out and three more were in the process of burning out. I checked the other three and they were fine.  I thought about doing a continuity check on the LEDs, but discovered the circuitry on the back of the clusters was sealed in clear plastic.  So, given there wasn’t anything I could do I placed a call to the good folks at Custom Dynamics over in North Carolina.

The first person I spoke with took all of my contact data and information on the lights, noting I keep all of the receipts for cars and motorcycles in binders with all of the maintenance records for just this very reason. One of their tech reps — Chris — called back later in the day to verify my info and also asked if I could take a photo of the light so they could see the burned-out LEDs.  Hmmm. Easier said than done. Taking a photo of a cluster of 36 LEDs while they’re illuminated was a bit daunting at first. However, I decided to go for the close-in shot and that eliminated that glare so that the burned-out LEDs could be seen in the photo and off it went.

Chris replied to my Email shortly thereafter and a replacement cluster was quickly on its way. It arrived 3 days later and now I’m good to go again!  It’s nice when a company stands behind its products and is easy to deal with when you do have an issue!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Motorcycle / Equipment, Pimping the Stuff or People We Like. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

