Taking the H-D in for TTS Master Tune & Dyno Race Tune Today…. Ambivalence

As foreshadowed in my last entry, I’m taking the 2011 Wide Glide in for a professional tuning with the TTS module and dyno; probably about 7 Benjamins all told. Part of me says it’s a waste of $$, the other part says it’s cheap insurance in the long run.

Ever since joining the H-D family back in June I’ve seen diametrically opposing views on just how necessary it is to remap the newer Delphi EFI equipped Harley’s.

I replaced the highly restrictive OEM pipes with a full system from Vance & Hines that I fitted with Quiet Baffles + Hard Kore baffles, i.e., maintaining a moderate amount of back pressure and the EFI/ECM quickly adapted… no bad habits.

I then replaced the OEM intake with a SE Stage 1 breather, where I covered the filter with a rain cover and the Nostalic intake cover, i.e., not as free-flowing as your basic naked filter. Again, the EFI/ECM seemed to adapt and no bad habits, just a little burbling on rapid off-throttle deceleration.

So, here I am with what I ‘think’ is a bike that runs pretty darn well despite some ‘conventional wisdom’. Given that I plan to keep this bike for the long-haul, I figure that a good tuning certainly can’t hurt at this point, even if it’s simply rounding off the 4th decimal point on engine performance and efficiency. At the same time, I’m cautiously optimistic that I’ll be surprised, amazed and pleased that I did the tune when, at the end of the day, I’m presented with the before and after dyno results and then head down the road with the freshly tuned bike.

More to follow….

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Motorcycle / Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

