The Family Comes a Calling: No Riding This Weekend….

Looks like we’ll need to start doing our riding indoors for the balance of the fall and winter, at least during the week and on weekends that don’t allow enough time for outdoor riding.  This weekend was a perfect example of why…

Had a great weekend visit with my parents who timed their trip to Ft Myers, Florida perfectly: it was cold and raining here on Friday, but at least it wasn’t snowing the way it was at their home near Reading, Pennsylvania!   We headed over to On The Border for our Friday night ritual where we also found our friends David & Debbie + the guys behind the bar: Jeff & Aaron.  Always a great recipe for good time, but there were quite a few other interesting folks in the bar that helped to elevate the fun to an entirely new level.  It was just an absolute blast and wonderful way to begin our visit.  We finished-off Friday night watching the St. Louis Cardinals clinch the World Series against the Rangers.

Mother & Bill with Caroline & Charlotte

Most of Saturday was spent at home, giving my folks a little time to relax in between the long drive from Pennsylvania on Thursday & Friday and the long drive they’d have to Ft Myers on Monday.  We had a late breakfast and around noon the kids and grandkids came over so we could see their Halloween outfits.  We had lunch while watching some of the college ball games, and then kept the kids occupied with the movie Cars while the adults visited with each other.  After the kids headed on to their next engagement — a Halloween party for Caroline — my mother and Debbie headed off to Pike’s Nursery for a couple of hours.  I always worry when Debbie spends a lot of time at Pike’s, as that usually means I’ll have a lot of digging ahead of me.  I was pleased to see that she’d bought houseplants!  After watching the Georgia / Florida game we headed over to Olde Towne Tavern & Grill for dinner and then came home and ended the night by watching Georgia Tech put an end to Clemson’s perfect season. Another great day.

Sunday was a quiet morning that allowed me to get some things done around the house. For the first time in several years, that also included carving up our pumpkins… I’d forgotten how much fun that can be!

 

After finishing up the pumpkins, we headed down to the Marietta Square to meet up with the kids and grandkids for lunch at the Marietta Pizza Company.  The girls brought along some cup cakes that they’d help their mom Julie make (wink, wink) and they were a hit with everyone, including a little boy at the table sitting next to us and one of the servers: both seemed genuinely interested in the cup cakes and receiving their own was apparently the highlight of their respective days!

After spending a little time walking around the square we headed for home and on a lark, I took a detour over to Horsetown Western Wear in Northwest Marietta, Georgia to see if they had the same Dan Post Albuquerque work boots that I’ve been wearing for the past year in black (69681).  Horsetown’s Marietta store is the original location for the western wear & horse tack retailer and the store is an amazing place stocked to the rafters with wonderful, high-quality apparel and just about everything else anyone into horses might need or want.

While they didn’t have the boots I wanted in stock, we didn’t go away empty-handed.  While working my way back to the front of the store to see what my folks and Debbie had found, I saw store manager Misty Stanley talking to some customers and, as always, she was wearing a stunning outfit that I thought would look great on Debbie.  In the past, and after seeing Misty in one of her great ensembles, I’ve gone and looked for similar skirts, jackets and tops but never been able to find them on my own. But, without Debbie being there, I was also reluctant to ask Misty for help in putting together an outfit since the sizing and whatnot is nearly impossible to gauge without having “the subject” try it on.  Well, here was my chance!!

Misty at Horsetown; the best!

So, after finding Debbie ordering some gift items for our granddaughters near the front of the store, I ushered her back to where Misty was working with some other clients so Debbie could see the knockout outfit that Misty was wearing.  As I thought, Debbie really liked the look and we were able to get Misty’s attention to ask “where can we find that type of apparel here in the store?” Well, what started out to be a quick side trip to check on a pair of boots turned into a fashion safari!

Misty was amazing and I knew Debbie was about to be taken care of like she’d never been taken care of before.  I’m not even sure how long we were there, but Misty probably dressed Debbie in no less than 10 different outfits with all kinds of different tops, belts and other accessories.  I love “playing dress-up” with Debbie and so did Misty.  By the time we were done I think Debbie walked out with three spectacular skirts, a stunning leather jacket, several tops and some accessories and a new friend in the women’s fashion business!  I scored a really nice leather sport coat… something I’ve always wanted, so it’s safe to say that we’ve taken care of Christmas 2015: at least I think that’s about how far out ahead of special events we are with our year-round habit of impulsive “gift-shopping”.  Hey, we could croak tomorrow…  It’s not like anyone else is going to spoil us!

After finishing up at Horsetown it was back to the ranch for some downtime watching the Steelers stay out in front of the Patriots as Debbie and my mother visited a bit more and then a late dinner as the Philadelphia Eagles and Dallas Cowboys began to square-off for Sunday Night Football.

All-in-all, a pretty nice weekend, even if we didn’t spend any time out riding the pedal or fuel injected bikes.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

